Sausage and Cheese Egg Bake

This was breakfast this morning.

I don’t often make egg bake, but every time I do I always ask myself why I don’t make more egg bakes.  Maybe it’s because my grandma always made them for Easter brunch and they seem too fancy for just any weekend breakfast.  In fact, the first time I ever made an egg bake was for Easter brunch at my house last year.  An egg bake is a great recipe to have in your repertoire because it is quick and easy to put together.  The ingredients are inexpensive, so you don’t need to wait for a special occasion, yet it is still fancy enough to serve to guests for breakfast or brunch.

An egg bake does take a little planning since you have to assemble it the night before, but they only take about 15 minutes to put together and involves almost no work (and no dishes!) to get a delicious breakfast on the table the following morning.  The recipe I use is this one from Taste of Home. I halve the recipe and bake it in a 9×9 pan.

However, I cook the whole pound of sausage and put half of the cooked sausage in the freezer for the next time.  I do this for two reasons: First, unless I have immediate plans for it, I usually throw the sausage in the freezer right after I buy it and it’s generally not recommended to thaw and refreeze raw meat.  Second, I can make another egg bake next weekend and the prep time will be even less!

This egg bake is a delicious, cheap, and filling breakfast.  It’s also great for using up leftover bread or buns at the end of the week, and if they’re already a little dry they work even better!

If you want to make a half batch like I do, I did the math for you:

Sausage and Cheese Egg Bake

5 eggs
1 cup plus a splash of milk (“splash” = 1 ounce or 2 tablespoons, if you want to be exact)
3/4 teaspoon ground mustard
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 pound ground pork sausage, cooked and drained
1 cup of cubed white bread
3/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese

Whisk together the eggs, milk, mustard, and salt.  Stir in the sausage, bread and cheese.  Pour into a greased 9×9 baking dish and spread evenly.  Cover tightly with foil and refrigerate overnight.

Remove the baking dish from the fridge about 30 minutes before baking.  Bake in a preheated oven, uncovered, at 350 degrees for 30-40 minutes or until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean and the top is browned to your liking.  Let stand 10 minutes before slicing.

Makes about 6 servings

This is a good base recipe to add in whatever ingredients sound good to you – I’ve modified this recipe in the past to make a meatless version.  I simply omitted the sausage and used red and green bell peppers, onions, and mushrooms.  The amount you use is to taste, but don’t put in too much more than the amount of sausage you’re replacing to ensure it sets properly.  The secret to not getting a watery egg bake when using vegetables is that you have to saute your veggies first (I do mine in a little butter) and squeeze out as much of the moisture as you can after they’re cooked.  Especially if you’re using mushrooms!  I use my wire strainer and press out the excess water with a spatula.

For a few minutes last night I contemplated adding kale to my egg bake, but I restrained myself (this time…).

name

Sausage and Cheese Egg Bake

Ingredients

  • 5 eggs
  • 1 cup plus a splash of milk (“splash” = 1 ounce or 2 tablespoons, if you want to be exact)
  • 3/4 teaspoon ground mustard
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 pound ground pork sausage, cooked and drained
  • 1 cup of cubed white bread
  • 3/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese

Directions

Whisk together the eggs, milk, mustard, and salt.  Stir in the sausage, bread and cheese.  Pour into a greased 9×9 baking dish and spread evenly.  Cover tightly with foil and refrigerate overnight.

Remove the baking dish from the fridge about 30 minutes before baking.  Bake in a preheated oven, uncovered, at 350 degrees for 30-40 minutes or until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean and the top is browned to your liking.  Let stand 10 minutes before slicing.

 

 

Kimberly | My Frugal Farmstead

6 thoughts on “Sausage and Cheese Egg Bake

What do you have to say?