Stuffed Pepper Cups

One thing we can always seem to grow without fail are amazing peppers.  I think it’s our sandy soil.  Right now our pepper plants are pretty loaded, so I had to make something that used up a bunch of them.

IMG_2700.JPG

That means it’s time for stuffed pepper cups!

I try to make these at least once each year when our peppers are in season.  It’s one of my husband’s favorite meals.  It’s my mom’s recipe, I remember her making them when I was growing up.  However, being the picky eater I was I probably just ate the beef and rice mixture and left the pepper.  Okay, not “probably,” I’m pretty sure of it.

The recipe calls for canned tomatoes.  If you have some home canned tomatoes in your pantry, great!  They work amazing in this recipe.  I happened to find a rogue pint of stewed tomatoes in the pantry, so I used that.  It was a surprise because we do all our stewed tomatoes in quarts – we must have not have had enough at the end of that batch to fill a whole quart.  Otherwise, my plan was to use half of a quart jar and find a use for the other half later (I don’t think another meal of stuffed peppers would have gotten any complaints!).  If you’re going with store-bought my mom recommends crushed tomatoes, but you can use whatever you’d like.

You’ll need a pound of ground beef, 1/3 cup chopped onion, a one-pound can of tomatoes, salt and pepper, uncooked long-grain rice, water, and 6 green peppers (maybe 1 or 2 more if your peppers are on the small side, but if they’re grocery-store peppers, 6 will be plenty).

IMG_2661

Cook the beef and onion in a skillet – use one that has a lid.

IMG_2664

Once the beef has browned, drain the fat and return the mixture to the pan.  Add 1/2 cup uncooked rice, 1/2 cup water, the can of tomatoes, 1/2 teaspoon salt, and a dash of pepper.

IMG_2669

Put on the lid and simmer the mixture for 15 minutes or until the rice is tender.

IMG_2679

Meanwhile, cut the tops off the peppers and scoop out the membranes and seeds.

IMG_2665

Pre-cook the peppers in boiling, salted water for 5 minutes, then drain them and sprinkle a little salt inside.

IMG_2674

I put my peppers in my baking dish before I stuffed them.  If you have peppers that you are confident will stand up on their own you can go ahead and stuff them first.  Mine are from the garden and aren’t the most consistent in shape, so I got them to stand upright in the baking dish before I tried filling them.  As you can see, I had to get a little creative with some foil to keep some of them from tipping.

IMG_2678

When the filling is done it will look like this.  Most of the water has been absorbed and the rice is tender.  We’re ready to stuff!

IMG_2684

In whichever order you choose to do it, spoon the filling into the peppers and put the peppers upright in a baking dish.

IMG_2686

You’ll see we gained a pepper.  Some of my peppers were a little small, so I had extra filling.  I ran out to the garden and grabbed a toddler-sized pepper and squeezed it into my dish.  They’re ready now to go in the oven at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes.

And here’s what they look like once they’re baked…

IMG_2691

The peppers are nice and tender and the filling is a little crispy on top.  Yum!

As far as a side dish, a garden salad and some fresh bread would be nice.  We had ours with corn.  Because right now every meal is served with a side of corn!

IMG_2697

We love homegrown meals like this!  We raised the beef, peppers, tomatoes, and corn.  You just don’t get things this fresh and flavorful from the grocery store – it really makes all that hard work worthwhile!

name

Stuffed Pepper Cups

  • Servings: 6
  • Time: About an hour
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 1/3 cup chopped onion
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt, plus more for salting water and sprinkling inside peppers
  • dash pepper
  • 1 one-pound can tomatoes
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup uncooked long-grain rice (not instant)
  • 6 green peppers

Directions

Cook ground beef and chopped onion until meat is lightly browned. Drain off fat and return to pan. Season with ½ tsp salt and dash pepper. Add tomatoes, water, and uncooked long-grain rice. Cover and simmer until rice is tender, about 15 minutes.

Meanwhile, cut tops off green peppers; remove seeds and membrane.  Pre-cook in boiling, salted water for 5 minutes.  Drain.  Sprinkle inside with salt.

Stuff peppers; stand upright in baking dish. Bake, uncovered, at 350 degrees 20-25 minutes.

 

 

Kimberly | My Frugal Farmstead

12 thoughts on “Stuffed Pepper Cups

  1. We have been eating these for the past few weeks. We can’t get enough and everybody (all 7 of us) love them! We put some cheddar cheese top for roasting, but our recipe is basically the same. I have had good success with peppers, too. I am not sure why, other than I try to keep the watering consistent.

    Liked by 1 person

What do you have to say?

