Flowers on a Friday

I’ve been amassing photos of the various flowers that have been blooming over the past month or so and haven’t been able to incorporate them into other posts.  It’s Friday, and I’m a big fan of alliteration, so here are some flowers on a Friday!

To continue the alliteration, I’ll start with some phlox:

IMG_2273

This is the sunflower that was a volunteer in my rhubarb patch.  I planted this variety of sunflowers a couple years ago and as long as the chipmunks don’t get them I usually get a bunch of volunteers – there are a bunch more by the shed.

12Sun

Here are the purple coneflowers blooming near my tippy herb tower.  You’ll see the mint is starting to creep back.

IMG_2274

This is a morning glory, a volunteer in my front garden.  I don’t know where these came from, I’ve never planted any but I’ve had a few show up each of the last few years.  I gave them some stakes to climb up but they’ve already reached the top of those!

IMG_2475

I have a couple dahlias starting to bloom.  This little red one…

IMG_2268

… and this yellow and white one.  This one is just starting to open, so you may see it again once it’s in full bloom.

IMG_2476

My gladiolus are doing pretty good too.  The bag I planted in this area was a mix, and all the earliest ones to bloom were yellow so I was starting to think that they were all going to turn out to be yellow…

23Choice

…. but then some of these yellow and orange ones started blooming!  It’s always fun planting a mix, you just don’t know what you’re going to get!

IMG_2367

I’ve got a bunch more gladiolus that are just sending up their flower spikes and a lot of dahlias starting to show buds.  That pretty much sums up the last few weeks in my flower gardens.  Perhaps I’ll make this a regular thing.  Anyone else want to join me for #FlowersOnAFriday ?

name

3 thoughts on “Flowers on a Friday

What do you have to say?

