Mom Came to Visit – Part 1

I’ve been largely absent from my blog this week because my mom came to visit!

My husband was out of town for work for 4 days.  So, my mom came to hang out with the kiddos and keep me from going crazy from 4 days without a break from them.  My dad and sister even spent a night after bringing her out.  All in all it was a fun week, and I didn’t lose my sanity, which is always a bonus.

I’ve been meaning to do another recipe post, and since we cooked up some fun stuff I’m going to share what we made.  I’m breaking it up into two parts so it doesn’t get too long and overwhelming.

My dad and sister can be particular about what they eat, as can my husband.  So, we took advantage of not having to cook for any of them for two out of the four nights and we got to make things that we probably wouldn’t get to eat otherwise.  These recipes are ones that I have found and have made no or minimal changes to.  Some I’ve made many times, some we just tried for the first time.  We had quite an exciting (and international) week!  Here’s what we did:

Monday Dinner: Chicken Fajitas

Recipe: Fajita Seasoning from Allrecipes.com

On Monday my sister wanted fajitas for dinner, so we obliged.  I’ve made this recipe a number of times.  I make the recipe for fajita seasoning as stated except I halve the amount of cayenne called for because of the toddler (otherwise I’d probably be adding more).

I use most of the seasoning mix to make a marinade:  Reserve 1 tablespoon of the seasoning.  To the remaining seasoning add 1 tablespoon of lime juice and 1 tablespoon of canola oil and marinate the meat, in this case chicken, for about half an hour before grilling.  I prefer to grill the chicken as cutlets then slice it into strips after it’s cooked.

For the veggies we used a yellow pepper, a green pepper, half a red pepper and one vidalia onion, all sliced into strips.  My mom cooked the veggies on the stove while I grilled the chicken.  Just cook the veggies in a drizzle of oil until they’re tender, sprinkling on the reserved seasoning about 2 or 3 minutes before they’re done.

We served them on flour tortillas with cheddar cheese, diced tomato, and sour cream mixed with cilantro (from the garden).

Tuesday, Just for Fun:  Pretzel Rolls

Recipe:  Pretzel Bread from The Looking Glass Life

These were SOOOOO good.  It took all my restraint to not stand there and eat the whole pan straight from the oven.  We only did two things slightly different from the recipe: We gave them a second rise after we formed them into balls and only used about a teaspoon of salt in the water bath.

I had never made pretzels or pretzel rolls before.  So, I had never mixed baking soda into boiling water before.  That was a neat surprise!  If you don’t know what I’m talking about, you should make this recipe and see for yourself!

Because of the boiling (I think), these get a little soggy on the outside after they’ve sat awhile, but I found that if you warm them up at 350 degrees for about 10 minutes the exterior goes back to its chewy deliciousness.

Tuesday Dinner: Teriyaki Meatballs

Recipe: Teriyaki Meatballs from Mel’s Kitchen Cafe

I found this recipe on Pinterest a few weeks ago.  I knew my husband would never even entertain the thought of eating this (he’s very picky when it comes to Asian dishes and especially dislikes the sweeter ones), so I saved it for my mom’s visit.  We made the recipe as stated, except we halved the meatball recipe to use just 1 lb of ground beef and didn’t use any green onion.  Overall, this turned out really good!  We decided the sauce would be amazing on chicken, stir fry, or even just rice.

We served it over brown rice and added some crushed red pepper flakes after serving.

So that’s what we made Monday and Tuesday.  Part 2 (Wednesday and Thursday) can be found here!  If you aren’t following my blog yet, now’s a good time… just scroll up a bit and look on the right side of the page for the buttons!

name

4 thoughts on “Mom Came to Visit – Part 1

  1. I’m going to be making some of these recipes at home… especially the pretzel rolls! Had a good time with da peanut and her personality and smile!…”mom”

    Liked by 1 person

What do you have to say?

