Awards

Apparently there are a lot of blogger-to-blogger awards that go around.  At the end of May I received the Leibster Award.  Over the last two weeks I was nominated for a couple additional awards.  To show my gratitude (and so you guys don’t think I was ignoring your nominations) I’m going to dedicate this post to those awards.


First off, I was nominated by Kelly from The Introvert Mom Blog for the Blogger Recognition Award.  Thank you for the nomination!

img_0046.jpg

To accept your award you must:

  1. Write a post to show your award
  2. Acknowledge the blogger that nominated you.
  3. Give a brief story about how you got started blogging.
  4. Give two pieces of advice for new bloggers.
  5. Nominate 15 bloggers for the award.

Write a post – check!

Acknowledgement – check!

How I started blogging.  Well, it’s something I’ve been wanting to do for awhile.  My brother in law resurrected my defunct laptop, which gave me the means to get started.  Having to sit at the computer was prohibitive because I can’t see the kids from there.  Also, I have always taken a lot of photos of the things we do around here.  Overall, I figured someone out there might be interested in all the stuff we have going on around here, so why not share it!

My two pieces of advice for new bloggers – Take some time to learn the ins and outs of what the interface has to offer.  There are lots of features and it will make things less frustrating when you know where to look for things.  Second, tags, tags, tags!  Use them, search them, they are your friend.  Those tags you like to search?  Follow or comment on some of those blogs you find and you’ll start to find your little niche in the community.


Then, I was nominated by Cori from The Looking Glass Life for the One Lovely Blog Award!  Thank you, Cori!

one-loveley-blogger

The Rules:

*Thank the person who nominated you, and give a link to his/her blog.
*List the rules.
*Display the image of the award on your post.
*List seven facts about yourself.
*Nominate (up to) 15 bloggers for this award, and notify them to let them know you have nominated them.

So my seven facts about myself (new ones that I didn’t share in my Leibster post)…

-I’m currently on level 1530 on Candy Crush (thank you late night feedings).
-I don’t really like melon of any sort.
-I had an internship in college that involved electrofishing streams.  I did it for two summers.
-I’ve never traveled out of the country, and I don’t particularly care to.
-My baked good of choice is brownies.  I love them.  Next would be cheesecake.
-Before leaving my job to be a stay at home mom, I worked as a personal banker/loan officer.
-I’ve never owned a smartphone.


Also, Gary (I don’t know his name, so I’ll call him Gary) from Weird Weekends selected my submission as the winner of his “Dirt and Herbs” contest.  Probably my most prestigious award to date.  Thanks to me, Gary will be enjoying lemon thyme from his garden all summer!  Here is a photo of the winning plant in all its glory:

Untitled.jpegCheck out Gary’s blog post (referenced above) to see what the plant actually looks like in his garden.

His contest inspired me to plant some lemon thyme this year too.  I had planted some a few years ago but haven’t since.  This year I put it in a flower pot and it is the centerpiece on our picnic table.

(If Gary actually is your name, that’s just a really creepy coincidence)


As you’ll notice, since I did a consolidated award post, I skipped the whole “nominate 15 blogs” part.  If you want to do one of the award posts, go ahead and nominate yourself.  I’ll even edit this post to include you.  I’m not trying to be a party pooper (although every party needs one…) but I just did a bunch of nominations about two weeks ago and it would likely be all the same blogs.

While I’m on this awards tangent, I may as well throw in some self-promotion for my newly minted facebook page.  Well, new as of last week.  I’m done spamming it with all my previous posts so it will be new content from this point on!  Follow My Frugal Farmstead’s Facebook Page!

name

2 thoughts on “Awards

What do you have to say?

