Mom’s Sugar Cookies

I didn’t do much this past weekend.  Not for lack of motivation, but because my husband was working on the farm truck.  I believe it was new brakes, calipers, rotors, a new ignition switch, and some other stuff with the steering column.  So, I was too busy with the kiddos to get anything done in the gardens, but they really just need some light weeding.  A quick summary:  The corn and pumpkins are growing good and the vegetable garden is doing its thing.  The flowers are doing great and my favorite iris looks like it will be blooming later this week, so perhaps I’ll have some photos and a little more to talk about then.

However, on Sundays I watch NASCAR and bake things.  I make the buns for my husband’s sandwiches for the week, something sweet for his lunch, and occasionally some muffins or something for breakfast.  Unfortunately, my race got rained out and postponed until today, so yesterday I just baked things.  Since Little Dude seemed to be content, I made cookies for the first time in awhile.  Although my husband’s favorite cookies are peanut butter, he’ll never complain about sugar cookies.  I use my mom’s recipe, and she told me it was given to her by a coworker when she first started at her job many (like, 40+) years ago (she just retired this spring… yay!).

Here’s how I got it:

Last Christmas sucked for me.  Not the holiday itself so much, but December in general.  I was 9 months pregnant and had gestational diabetes, which meant no Christmas goodies for me.  However, I did still manage to make a batch of Christmas cookies.  I actually wanted to make Christmas cookies but I was huge, I was tired, and I didn’t want to experiment with an untested recipe.  I also didn’t want to be rolling out dough and gingerly placing fragile cutouts on baking sheets.  Then decorating?  Hahahahaha!  There’s definitely enjoyment in that process, but not when you’re 9 months pregnant… and huge…  and tired…  So I called my mom and asked her for her “sugar cookie recipe where you roll the dough into balls and roll them in the sugar.”

This recipe is super easy in that you don’t have to chill the dough, and there’s no rolling and cutting.  You don’t even need to wait for butter to soften – because this recipe uses shortening.  And you don’t have to wait until Christmas to make them!  Because they’re delicious, and any time of year is appropriate for delicious cookies!

Mom’s Sugar Cookies

1 cup shortening
1 cup sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 egg
2 tablespoons milk
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 teaspoon salt
Sanding sugar (or sprinkles)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Cream together shortening and sugar.  Mix in vanilla, then egg, then milk.

In a separate bowl mix together flour, baking soda, and salt.  Add to wet ingredients.

Roll into walnut-sized balls, then roll the balls in sanding sugar.

Here’s a photo of my sugar.  I don’t know how I could have left it out of the photo of the ingredients!  I love the sanding sugar with the huge crystals.  They just make everything extra shiny and sparkly!

IMG_1717

Here’s another photo… they’re so pretty they deserve two…

Anyway, back to the recipe…. rolling the balls in the sugar…

IMG_1724

Ultimately, I used about 4 oz of sugar.  Don’t put too much in the bowl to start with, you can always add more as you go.  You’ll want to throw out any sugar remaining at the end that’s been in contact with the raw dough.

Place on a greased baking sheet – I just use my silicone mat.  Flatten each ball a little with the bottom of a glass (to about 3/4″).  I tried taking a photo of the flattening process but it looked awkward, so I’m just going to leave that out.  They’re all flattened in the photo here:

Add a little bit more sanding sugar to the top.

IMG_1728

Bake 5-8 minutes, until they just start to brown.

IMG_1729

Leave them on the cookie sheet for about three minutes before transferring to a cooling rack to cool completely.

IMG_1731

Makes about 3 dozen.

IMG_1737

If you’re looking for a good sugar cookie recipe, be sure to give this one a try!  It would also be a great recipe for the little ones to help with – pretty soon my daughter will be old enough to help me in the kitchen and this will be one of the first recipes I will make with her.  I’m sure she’ll love rolling the dough in the colorful sprinkles!

name

Mom's Sugar Cookies

  • Servings: About 3 Dozen
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 1 cup shortening
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • Sanding sugar (or sprinkles)

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Cream together shortening and sugar. Mix in vanilla, then egg, then milk. In a separate bowl mix together flour, baking soda, and salt. Add to wet ingredients. Roll into walnut-sized balls, then roll the balls in sanding sugar. Place on greased baking sheet. Flatten each ball a little with the bottom of a glass (to about 3/4″). Add a little bit more sanding sugar to the top. Bake 5-8 minutes, until they just start to brown. Leave them on the cookie sheet for about three minutes before transferring to a cooling rack to cool completely.

Kimberly | My Frugal Farmstead

 

5 thoughts on “Mom’s Sugar Cookies

What do you have to say?

