My Blog Celebrates 1 Month (with Baked Beans)

It’s been one month since I officially started my blog!  Yes, I published one post in April, but I didn’t tell anyone about my blog until I published my second post on May 2nd, so I consider that the “official” start of my blog.  I just wanted to say thank you to everyone who has taken the time out of their day to read my posts.  I truly appreciate the all likes and the comments.  You may not know it, but you guys even pooled together and gave me a birthday present – my most views EVER on that day!  58!  If you all keep reading, I’ll keep writing!

If I had planned ahead, I would have shared some cupcakes with you to celebrate.  But I was busy in the garden and my mother-in-law sent a couple dozen cookies back with us after we helped with the storm cleanup on Sunday (so we don’t need any more baked goods for the time being).  How about a potluck?  Back when I was working there was a potluck for everything!  Birthdays, last days, holidays, babies, weddings… potluck!  I think a one-month blog anniversary qualifies as a good reason for a potluck!  I’ll bring some beans…

I have seen this type of bean dish at just about every potluck but I was always afraid to try it… until my mom made them last month for my daughter’s birthday.  Since my mom made them, I knew they must be good!  As soon as I tried them I asked for the recipe.  My daughter gobbled them up too – two helpings of them!  As it turns out, this was my grandma’s recipe, but I don’t remember her making them (or I avoided them because I didn’t like baked beans until I was older).  The cayenne was my mom’s addition – it doesn’t add a lot of heat, it just adds a little zip that nicely balances out the sweetness.

I made these beans last night for dinner, but for a weeknight dinner we don’t need a huge batch of beans.  My ground beef is frozen in 1 lb packs, so I cooked up the whole pound and put half a pound of the cooked beef back in the freezer for another meal.  Cutting the recipe in half would have been a major pain, so you’ll see below that as I put the recipe together I put half in my little crock pot (I LOVE my little crock pot!) and the other half right into a container for the freezer.  The next time I want to make a half batch of these beans I just need to thaw the container and put it in the contents in crock pot for the afternoon! Easy!

Grandma Mae Jule’s Baked Beans

(printable .pdf)

1/2 lb beef
1/2 lb bacon, chopped
1 large can baked beans
1 can butter beans, drained
1 can kidney beans, drained
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup sugar
1/4 cup ketchup
2 tablespoon molasses
1/2 teaspoon dry mustard
1/2 – 1 teaspoon cayenne

First, brown and drain beef and bacon.

Then, mix everything together and place in baking dish (or crock pot… I just mixed mine right in the crock pot).

Finally, bake for 1 1/2 hours at 350 degrees (or put in crock pot on low for 4 hours or so).

Again, my daughter ate two helpings!  That little girl sure loves her beans!  The baked kind… not the green ones… she still won’t eat anything green… anyway…

What would you like to bring to my potluck?  Do you have a favorite potluck recipe or do you like to try out new things? Something savory or something sweet?  Or will you just grab some chips and dip from the grocery store (Not judging, I’ve done that too!)?

name

7 thoughts on “My Blog Celebrates 1 Month (with Baked Beans)

  1. I like to try new things! Some are good, some are questionable!

    But this time I’ll bring banana bread brownies!

    1 1/2 c sugar
    1 c sour cream
    1/2 c butter, softened
    2 eggs
    1 3/4 c ripe bananas (3-4) mashed
    2 tsp vanilla
    2 c flour
    1 tsp baking soda
    3/4 tsp salt
    1/2 c chopped walnuts (opt)

    Brown butter frosting:

    1/2 c butter
    4 c powdered sugar
    1 1/2 tsp vanilla
    3 TBS milk

    Heat oven to 375. Grease and flour 10 x 15 jelly roll pan. In large bowl beat together sugar, sour cream, butter and eggs until creamy. Blend in bananas and vanilla. Add flour,soda and salt and blend for one minute. Stir in walnuts.

    Spread batter into pan, bake 20-25 minutes or until golden brown.

    Meanwhile, for frosting, heat butter in large saucepan over medium heat until boiling. Let butter turn a delicate brown and remove from heat immediately.

    Add powdered sugar, vanilla and milk. Whisk until smooth. Spread over warm bars.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I ALWAYS make potato salad for potlucks, no matter the time of year! I brought it once for Thanksgiving at my in-laws’, and my father-in-law mistook it for cold mashed potatoes and popped it in the oven for 30 minutes. Even warm, it was good, lol!

    Congrats on your blog’s anniversary, looking forward to reading it for many more anniversaries to come!

    Liked by 1 person

What do you have to say?

